Troop 62

Hockanum River District
Connecticut Rivers Council
South Windsor, Connecticut


This page updated 07/04/2014

About Advancement

As boys acquire skills and progress through the scouting program, they can achieve progressively higher ranks, with Eagle being the highest.. Scouts are given an initial rank of "scout", which has no requirements.. The "scout" rank badge features a brown fleur-de-leis with no eagle.

By completing rank requirements, boys can then advance to Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle. Rank requirements can be found in the Boy Scout Handbook; each scout should have his own copy of the Handbook.

Scouts are awarded new Rank Badges and Merit Badges at the Court of Honor, a special troop meeting held once or twice a year. The rank of Eagle is bestowed at a separate special award ceremony.

Current Advancement Activities
Rank Requirements
About Merit Badges
Merit Badge Booklet Lending Library
Order of the Arrow

A complete set of Boy Scout rank requirements are maintained by the U.S. Scouting Service Project (USSSP). Click on one of the badges below to view the rank requirements on the USSSP site. Note: Eagle requirements are very specific, and include a considerable amount of documentation. On attaining the "Life" rank, scouts should receive a packet from the Scoutmaster with a complete Eagle checklist.

Tenderfoot Scout

Second Class Scout

First Class Scout

Star Scout

Life Scout

Eagle Scout

Where to Wear

The current rank badge is worn on the face of the left shirt pocket. When a scout attains a new rank, the previous rank badge is replaced.


About Merit Badges

What's a Merit Badge??

Merit Badges are special awards given to Scouts that have met specific requirements for a specific area of interest or study. Merit Badges are required to attain the ranks of Star, Life, and Eagle. There are over 100 different merit badges that can be earned.

When you receive a merit badge, be sure to keep the card that comes with it - this is your proof that you earned the merit badge.

Shown at right: Citizenship In The Nation Merit Badge.

Where to Wear

Merit Badges are worn on the Merit Badge Sash.

Merit Badge Booklet Lending Library

The Boy Scouts of America publishes a booklet for each merit badge. Each booklet provides background information about the subject area for that merit badge, as well as a complete list of requirements needed to earn the badge. If you would like to purchase a personal copy of a specific merit badge booklet, they're available at the Scout Shop for a nominal fee. However, if you'd like to borrow a booklet, Troop 62 maintains a Lending Library of merit badge booklets.

Availability. The entire Lending Library is usually available at our weekly Troop Meeting. Scouts may borrow booklets by signing them out through our Troop Librarian.

Donations. If you have completed a merit badge and have a personal copy of a booklet, we encourage you to donate it to our Lending Library - your generosity is appreciated!

Catalog. Here are the merit badge booklets that Troop 62 currently has available for you to borrow:

  • Archery
  • Archaology
  • Architecture
  • Atomic Energy
  • Auto Mechanics
  • Aviation
  • Backpacking
  • Basketry
  • Bird Study
  • Camping
  • Canoeing
  • Corn Farming
  • Chemistry
  • Citizenship in The Community
  • Citizenship in The Nation
  • Citizenship in The World
  • Collections
  • Communications
  • Computers
  • Consumer Buying
  • Cooking
  • Cycling
  • Dentistry
  • Drafting
  • Electricity
  • Environmental Science
  • Family Life
  • Electricity
  • Environmental Science
  • Family Life
  • Fingerprinting
  • First Aid
  • Fishing
  • Fish & Wildlife Management
  • Firemanship
  • Hiking
  • Home Repairs
  • Horsemanship
  • Insect Study
  • Indian Lore
  • Leatherwork
  • Lifesaving
  • Mammals
  • Metallurgy
  • Metalwork
  • Metals Engineering
  • Motorboating
  • Nature
  • Oceanography
  • Orienteering
  • Personal Fitness
  • Personal Management
  • Pets
  • Pioneering
  • Plant Science
  • Plumbing
  • Pottery
  • Public Health
  • Railroading
  • Reading
  • Reptile Study
  • Rifle Shooting
  • Rowing
  • Safety
  • Salesmanship
  • Scholarship
  • Shotgun Shooting
  • Signaling
  • Small-Boat Sailing
  • Snow Sports
  • Skiing
  • Soil & Water COnservation
  • Space Exploration
  • Surveying
  • Swimming
  • Theatre
  • Veterinary Science
  • Water Skiing
  • Weather
  • Whitewater
  • Wilderness Survival
  • Wood Carving
  • Woodwork
  • Zoology

Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow is the service branch of the Boy Scouts.
Please see our OA Page for details on the Order of the Arrow.


Each Rank Badge and Merit Badge comes with a card indicating when it was awarded. Scouts should keep these cards, and especially the merit badge "blue cards" that are given to them when merit badges are awarded, in a safe place, because District Advancement requires them when a Scout applies for the Rank of Eagle.

Back to Top